Refuse to be Passive

A Time for Thanks

In Life in General on October 10, 2009 at 12:25 pm

For one weekend each year our country chooses to focus on the blessings of life. It sets aside time to give thanks. In honour of this weekend, I will be blogging each day about something I’m thankful for. Today, I am thankful for people I can trust, people I can be real with. Some of these people are my closest friends, others are people who, while I don’t know them that well, have been there for me when I needed it.

Recently, one of my friends from when I was a kid, moved back to Edmonton. While we’d seen each other a few times over the years, I really wasn’t sure what it would be like to be living in the same city again. Would we stay friends? Had our lives moved apart, and we wouldn’t even want to spend time together? As it turns out, we still get along great, and have lots of opportunities to hang out, having coffee or going to the Farmer’s Market. We can talk as well now, as we ever could. It’s fantastic to have her back. I am thankful for my long-time friends who are there for me through thick and thin, even when the distances separate us.

So, there are the friends I’ve had forever, and then there are future friends. These are the people that I currently only count as acquaintances, but am hopeful for the future. One of these people has been invaluable to me for his listening ear and thoughtful advice. While our conversations are often few and far between, every time we talk I feel that I come away with new things to think about. So here’s to future friends, who are already in our lives today.

Then there is my family. If there are people I can trust in this world, it’s my family. My sisters are my closest friends and confidants—I know I can trust them with anything, and I have. My mom and my dad have been the best parents a girl could ask for. They’re always there to listen, and I know that they worry about me, even when there’s no reason to. I know that if I miss coming home for a holiday they’ll miss me. If I ever need help, they’ll be there, even though they live six hours away. My mom is coming up for a visit next month, and my dad will probably come too. I’m looking forward to being able to spend time with them. I’m thankful for family and the joy they bring, and the fact that I know they’ll always be there.

Leave a Reply

