Refuse to be Passive

Ovens. They’re all different.

In Life in General on October 2, 2009 at 9:01 am

Moving to a new place always has a few minor things that the new owner must adjust themsevles to, quirks that are particular to that place. Last night I found out one of the quirks of my place, my oven temperature. I made pumpkin loaf last night and it came out a little on the dark side on the bottom, but couldn’t be pulled out sooner as the middle wasn’t done. It still tastes fine. At least it’s not a total write-off, but when it comes to baking, I am a perfectionist, so I feel like my pumpkin loaf needs a disclaimer before I serve it to other people. The thing is, I don’t want to turn down the oven, at that would make the outside of the loaf too tough. Does anyone have any suggestions on what to do about that? I’m using good quality pans, so that shouldn’t be the issue.

  1. Could try moving the shelf up, but if it’s an old stove you may just be hooped.

Leave a Reply

