Refuse to be Passive

I….I…I’ve got nothing.

In Life in General on September 17, 2009 at 4:27 pm

Blargh! All my abilities with sarcasm cease in the face of a person that I need sarcasm to defend myself from! What am I to do?

Honestly though, it’s true. My abilities with sarcasm have vaporized since third year university when I made one of my roommates cry. No, it wasn’t intentional. I maintain that she was just a little oversensitive. But as of that point, I decided that maybe sarcasm wasn’t all it was cracked up to be. It seems to me that’s also the point at which I lost most of my guy friends. Coincidence? I think not. Anyways, now I could really use that biting sarcasm that used to get me through the day. If I could harness and control it’s power, I could obliterate my adversary with rhetoric.

This person practically accused me of being a cat lady, in a very mocking sort of way, and I had nothing. I couldn’t come up with any form of decent comeback. What has happened to me? I bemoan the day I swore off sarcasm completely. I need it to survive. There are two people in my office who are beyond sarcastic and when they dish it out, I can’t fling it back.

Aggravation!

Note: The only time my sarcasm still works is with my father. I’m still trying to figure that one out.

  1. Dear Maria: Sarcasm……. There’s a place for it, or NOT. You experienced that in third year. Did you and your roommate ever really sort that out? Often if we use sarcasm and it hits the other wrong, we can see it in their face. Then it needs to be sorted out. And sarcasm with dad….remember, you grew up with Dad in the same household, he knows exactly how you tick. Others in your life don’t have that same insight.Before we can use sarcasm in an effective way,we usually need to know our opponent and how they tick. Otherwise we hurt and distance them.Once the words are out of our mouth, they’re hard to take back. Alienating others usually does not benefit anyone. I hope you can work out a better understanding between you . Love, Aunt T.

Leave a Reply

