Refuse to be Passive

Hitting Your Stride

In Life in General on September 11, 2009 at 9:24 am

I’ve been swimming three times a week for about three weeks now and have worked myself up from 700m to 1300m. On a normal day, I start out strong, and start to lose steam at around 600m or 700m, but this morning, for some reason, I hit 50m and was finished. I pushed through it, knowing it was just a wall. I had no idea why I’d hit it so early though. I’d barely don two lengths! It took me a good 250m to push past that block, and even then I wasn’t feeling as strong as I normally do. I didn’t feel up to speed until I hit around 700m, almost the exact opposite of my normal trend. And for the life of me I can’t figure out why it would take so long for me to hit my stride. Any thoughts?
I’m glad I didn’t quit though. I pushed to 1300m, or maybe a bit more, as I lost count a couple of times. Whoot! Next week, on to 1400m.
Oh, and I would have included a picture of me in my swimming get up, but no one should have to see that . 🙂

Leave a Reply

