Refuse to be Passive

A long Long Weekend

In Food, Life in General on September 8, 2009 at 8:55 am

What a weekend it was! I was expecting it to be busy, but it was crazy! Friday evening started the weekend out pretty typically, I went to the Kinsmen and had some fun playing volleyball. Afterward, I headed to Erika and Chuck’s for some pizza and to try out their hot tub (not typical of a Friday). I got home way too late, and fell into bed.
I had been planning on going to Calgary on Saturday, but due to a few minor issues, that plan fell through. Instead, I called up my friend Jen and we had an IKEA day. We’ve both recently moved into new places and had some stuff we wanted to pick up.
I also hit up the farmer’s market, and at the suggestion of a friend who works there, bought some Eggplant with Roasted Red Pepper, which will be delightful, although I’m not sure what I’ll serve it with.
Sunday I was up bright and early to take a drive down to Calgary. I needed to be there for noon, to meet up with Angie and Olga, two friends from Ontario who were out visiting. I was worried as I was running late, but as with most worries, it was unwarranted, as once I arrived at the restaurant I had to wait twenty minutes for them anyways. We spent most of the day hanging out together, doing a bit of shopping in Kensington, and it was delightful. That evening I went out for coffee with another friend I hadn’t seen in almost a year.
The next morning I prepared to head back up to Edmonton, with a stop in Lacombe on the way to visit yet another friend, when I received a text from my best friend from high school, asking if we still had time to meet while I was in Calgary. I had figured in two hours for whatever to come up, so we met for coffee at Upper Ground in Kensington. I love that coffee shop, it’s go great food, drinks, and ambiance. Sometimes I wish I could just pick it up and move it to Edmonton– that and the amazing toy shop next door.
So that morning, after coffee with Kristin, I headed up to Lacombe, had a quick lunch with Cindy at Timmy’s, and then continued up to Edmonton.
What a long couple of days, but rather fantastic! Thanks for a great, but tiring long weekend. I’ll try not to fall asleep at my desk today.

  1. two words: sausage shots.

  2. Sausage Shots! My favourite.

Leave a Reply

