Refuse to be Passive

Starbucks vs. McDonalds…Really?

In Food, Life in General on August 24, 2009 at 1:50 am

Some of you may be thinking, what’s she going to compare between Starbucks and McDonald’s? And isn’t the winner of whatever the comparison is, already obvious? Well hear me out.

As far as ambiance goes, Starbucks wins hands down, every time, unless you’re in one of those specialty McDonald’s that looks like a wood lodge or something. But what I am comparing here is not ambiance, it’s coffee. Good old, straight up, black coffee. Not the fruffy stuff. Not the non-fat dairy-free hazelnut latte. But just a black coffee. Starbucks’ Pike Place roast vs. McDonald’s Arabica Coffee.
First of all, let’s admit you get more bang for your buck at McDonald’s with a large coffee. My roommate just brought me a coffee for $1.67, and I’m guessing it’s about 16 oz. That’s a big coffee.
Starbucks, on the other hand, charges closer to $2 for the same size. Not a big difference, unless you drink a lot of coffee.

I have no idea what actual official taste test have said in comparing the two, but I know what my taste buds tell me. McDonald’s wins hands down. Their coffee is refreshing, without a bitter aftertaste. Sometimes at Starbucks I feel like I’m drinking tar, not for the sludge factor, but the taste factor.

My apologies to anyone who loves Starbucks, but this is what my taste buds tell me.

Leave a Reply

