Refuse to be Passive

To Watch, or not to Watch?

In Life in General, Movies with a bit of TV on August 16, 2009 at 4:48 am

I’m seriously considering giving up watching movies (and TV?) in my home for the next year. It may sound a bit crazy, but it’s true. I love movies. TV isn’t so bad for me, but I love movies. I probably watch two per weekend, at least…sometimes up to four. I’m starting to think it’s unhealthy, that I’m trying to live vicariously through characters in movies. They’re not even real people for goodness sakes! Instead of living through fictional characters, maybe I need to learn how to live my own life. One of the brilliant things about movies is that you never see the boring bits of a characters life, and the pieces you do see, always fit into the story line. Real life isn’t like that. We don’t just skip the boring bits, otherwise two weeks of our lives could probably also fit into two hours. And our lives don’t work in a clear order, working towards an ending, where every move brings us one step closer to the finally. Life is filled with bredth, it’s not a narrow path with one tiny storyline. At any given time we can be living four movies at once, if not more. Life is not one-dimensional. So maybe it’s time for me to wake up and see life for what it is, and movies for what they are. Life holds more joy and sorrow than a movie ever could. It’s not to be missed. And sitting in front of a screen means I am probably missing out on something right now. Maybe it’s time to stop living vicariously through fiction, and embrace the realities of life.

  1. And movies present such a skewed version of reality to vicariously live as well. Somehow things turn out in the end (usually) but that’s not really the case all the time in real life šŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

